Skip to main content

Additive Manufacturing Users Group Names DINO Award Winners

By June 18, 2019June 28th, 2019news
Prestigious award recognizes experience and service.

MILWAUKEE, WISC., June 18, 2019 – The Additive Manufacturing Users Group (AMUG) has presented its prestigious DINO (Distinguished INnovator Operator) Award for additive manufacturing expertise and service to 10 individuals. The awards were presented at the 31st annual users group conference held in Chicago, Illinois.

Standing before over 2,000 members, AMUG representatives presented the DINO Awards in recognition of tenure in the additive manufacturing (AM) industry, years of service, contributions to the AM industry, and active support of the users group. Gary Rabinovitz, AMUG chairperson and DINO Committee chair, said, “This award recognizes not only experience but also character and passion. Following a lengthy nomination and review process, the committee selected 10 deserving individuals from dozens of qualified candidates.”

Front row (left to right): Brett Charlton, Rory Jackson, Tuan Tranpham, and Jeremy Pullin. Back row (Left to right): Jordan Weston, Jay Dinsmore, Nate Schumacher, Bob Markley, and Rick Moore. Missing: Brett Lyons.

The newly named DINOs are:

  • Brett Charlton, BD
  • Jay Dinsmore, Dinsmore Associates
  • Rory Jackson, RAMP Inc.
  • Brett Lyons, Jabil Additive
  • Bob Markley, 3rd Dimension Industrial 3D Printing
  • Rick Moore, U.S. Army
  • Jeremy Pullin, Sartorius Stedim
  • Nate Schumacher, Midwest Prototyping
  • Tuan Tranpham, Desktop Metal
  • Jordan Weston, Milwaukee School of Engineering

Paul Bates, AMUG president, said, “The eight-person selection committee had a big challenge in selecting our DINO Award recipients. As I heard the credentials of each described from the presentation stage, and knowing these individuals personally, I knew that it had selected wisely. On behalf of AMUG, I once again congratulate each of these individuals.”

The DINO Award recognizes those that have contributed to the additive manufacturing industry with the intent to advance the industry as a whole or to advance the skills and knowledge of individuals. At the heart of this award is a passion for and dedication to additive manufacturing that is coupled with a desire to share and to be accessible to others.

The new DINOs’ efforts behind the scenes and from the public stage have advanced the technology and the applications that leverage its capabilities. Through direct contributions of time and energy, all have had a hand in making the AMUG Conference a positive experience for those seeking insights and information.

Bates said, “AMUG’s tenet is ‘For Users, By Users,’ and its success comes from a community where individuals share insights to help one another. Our 10 DINOs have actively participated in the sharing and getting involved with the activities that build the foundation for the community and the AMUG Conference experience.”

Over its 31-year history, AMUG has awarded only 159 DINOs. Although there are many deserving of the recognition as a DINO, AMUG limits this prestigious award to no more than ten individuals each year. Nominations for 2020 DINO candidates will be accepted beginning October 1, 2019.


AMUG is an organization that educates and advances the uses and applications of additive manufacturing technologies. AMUG members include those with industrial additive manufacturing/3D printing technologies and materials used for professional purposes from companies such as Stratasys, DSM, SLM Solutions, EOS, GE Additive, ExOne, BASF, Renishaw, Carbon, HP Inc., Additive Industries, Formlabs, and 3D Systems. AMUG meets annually to provide education and training through technical presentations on processes and new technologies. This information addresses the operation of additive manufacturing equipment and the applications that use the parts they make. Online at